Tennessee Jump$tart

(615) 253-7459

Tennessee Jump$tart is a non-profit organization comprised of approximately 50 individuals and organizations representing business, government and education who have joined together to improve the personal financial literacy of Tennessee’s youth.


Educator of the Year


The Tennessee Jump$tart Excellence in Financial Education Educator of the Year Awards is a recognition program for outstanding financial educators. Recipient(s) will be selected based on successful accomplishments in innovation/creativity related to teaching personal finance, instructional strategies, content and standards accomplishments, collaborations, and program results.


To be eligible for the award, the recipient must meet the following criteria:

  • be based and conducting financial literacy programming in Tennessee within the past year (June 2018 – present)

  • be an educator in one of the following categories:

    • teacher, administrator, counselor, or similar role (K-12, college/university, public, private, charter, home school, etc.)

    • after-school club or student organization sponsor

    • counselor, coach, instructor, leader, or similar role (community group, non-profit, government, financial institution, initiative, etc.)

    • Conducting financial literacy programming, which may include one or more of the following categories:

      • teaching a personal finance course

      • integrating personal finance concepts into course(s)

      • conducting community financial literacy

      • leading groups focusing on financial literacy topics

      • engaging in other financial education programming

Entry Guidelines

Entries may be submitted by the individual (self-nomination) or by another individual (with the advance approval of the nominee) who would like to recognize an educator for their accomplishments in financial education. Entry package information must be verified by the nominee and approved in the terms of agreement.

The entry form and supporting response criteria (outlined below) must be submitted using the online entry form or before Tuesday, April 30, 2019.


Recipient(s) will be recognized and receive award(s) during the 2019 Tennessee Jump$tart Personal Finance Educator Conference, which will be held June 5 – 7, 2019, in Gatlinburg, Tennessee (visit www.tnjumpstart.org for additional information).

Entry Package

An online entry form (requests information about the nominee) will be submitted through the online submission system.

The entry will also include responses to the following:

  • Innovation/Creativity

How has the financial literacy initiative been innovative/creative in its implementation?

  • Instructional Strategies

In what ways did your program reach and/or teach learners to effectively utilize financial literacy skills? What financial literacy approaches have been used to effectively teach personal finance?

  • Content and StandardsIn what way were financial education content covered and/or were state and/or national personal finance benchmarks and standards met and exceeded?

  • CollaborationsWho were the collaborating partners (if any) of the initiative and what were their roles? How was information from previous Tennessee Jump$tart conferences and partners utilized?

  • Results/Measurement/EvaluationHow was mastery of the financial literacy concepts measured? What evidence is there that learners have developed an understanding of financial literacy concepts and/or acquired financial literacy skills?

Each of the five narrative responses should be no more than 250 words (bullet points encouraged) to be submitted using the online entry form. Nominee may want to prepare the response in Word then paste into the online submission system.

Additional Information

For additional information about the awards program and the Tennessee Jump$tart Coalition for Personal Financial Literacy, visit www.tnjumpstart.org.

Awards program questions should be directed to Alan Smith, Tennessee Jump$tart Educator of the Year Awards Chair, at alan.smith@tn.gov or 615-532-1024.


Educators of the Year




Catherine Millsaps

Moore County High School
Lynchburg (Middle Tennessee)


Stacie Anderson

Siegel High School
Murfreesboro (Middle Tennessee)




Erin Johnson

The Soulsville Charter School
Memphis (West Tennessee)

Susan Gwin

Humphreys County CET- Waverly Central High School
Waverly (Middle Tennessee)

Mariah Phillips

Daniel McKee Alternative School
Murfreesboro (Middle Tennessee)

Jeff Hartman

South Greene High School
Greeneville (East Tennessee)



Teresa Adams

Jefferson County High School
Dandridge (East Tennessee)

George Aquila

Soddy Daisy High School
Soddy Daisy (East Tennessee)

Becky Brady

Walker Valley High School
Cleveland (East Tennessee)

Scott Roark

Central Magnet School
Murfreesboro (Middle Tennessee)

Lori Anne Harris

Hardin County High School
Savannah (West Tennessee)



Teresa Bates

Lebanon High School
Lebanon (Middle Tennessee)

Debbie Curtis

Macon County High School
Lafayette (Middle Tennessee)
for Excellence in Teaching

Marlena Dixon

Wilson Central High School
Lebanon (Middle Tennessee)

Skeeter Makepeace

McCallie School
Chattanooga (East Tennessee)

Tracey Thomas

Trezevant Career and Technical Center
Memphis (West Tennessee)



Kelly Clary

Robertson County Alternative Program
Springfield (Middle Tennessee)

Tammy Gose

Macon County High School
Lafayette (Middle Tennessee)
for Excellence in Teaching

Sherrie Spiegler

Sullivan Central High School
Blountville (East Tennessee)

Ella Williams

Watertown High School
Watertown (Middle Tennessee)

Frances Galloway

Kingsbury Career Technology Center
Germantown (West Tennessee)

John Knaff

Memphis University School
Memphis (West Tennessee)



Frances Baugh

Overton High School
Nashville (Middle Tennessee)

Brenda Daniel

Franklin County High School
Fayetteville (Middle Tennessee)

Angie Rushing

Westview High School
Martin (West Tennessee)

Sara Faulkner-Hinkle

Daniel Boone High School
Gray (East Tennessee)

Angel Sliger

McMinn Central High School
Englewood (East Tennessee)

Dan Smith

Rossview High School
Clarksville (Middle Tennessee)



Amy Collette

David Crockett High School
Jonesborough (East Tennessee)

Debbi Mottern

Science Hill High School
Johnson City (East Tennessee)

Shari Scott

Tennessee School for the Blind
Nashville (Middle Tennessee)

LaDonna Braswell

Florida-Kansas Elementary School
Memphis (West Tennessee)

Theresa Burton

Unaka High School
Unaka (East Tennessee)

LaJoyce Weatherspoon

Northeast High School
Clarksville (Middle Tennessee)



Claire Arbaugh

Dobyns-Bennett High School
Kingsport (East Tennessee)

Barbara Turner

Oakland High School
Murfreesboro (Middle Tennessee)

Michael Morrow

Stewarts Creek High School
Murfreesboro (Middle Tennessee)